Posted by: ourlifewithmpd | December 18, 2014

things are getting better …

For the first time I am actually happy during the holidays. No flashbacks, no depression, I feel happy. I smile at people. I’m not irritated when others are impatient or kids scream or that sort of thing. I lost six pounds without even trying, and for once, I’m not in a terrified freaking out stuffing my face binge because of it.

It’s really amazing.

I think that some of you might actually do okay on this MKMMA thing. I was thinking about this last night, and I think if you:

  • are co-conscious with at least one of your alters (the more the better — you will need their help to do this)
  • don’t have problems with being kicked out of forums all the time (in other words, your protectors and littles are under wraps online) — this is super important
  • have basic control of your body (you aren’t waking up somewhere not knowing how you got there, for example)
  • aren’t self-harming or suicidal
  • are away from your abusers or any other controlling people (they will try to influence you to quit, because you will be learning to think for yourself)
  • have at least one person who is supportive, such as a partner, therapist, friend, etc.

Then you should do okay.

These people are not therapists and frankly I’m not sure if they even believe our diagnosis. It doesn’t matter to me because I’m used to that attitude and I have survived worse but if you have to have everyone say that they believe your diagnosis, what happened to you, etc for you not to be triggered then you probably won’t do well.

Something that we’re doing that I think would really help you even if you don’t feel like the big class is for you would be the 7-Day Mental Diet. I’m finding it really helpful, and if you want to try it you can click on the link and fill out the form. It’s basically a file to download and read, and some tips and encouragement for your week.

I found it so useful that I’m still doing it even though the seven days have passed.

Anyway, if you’re feeling bad because of the holidays you might try that and see if it helps.

Leave a Reply

Categories

