Posted by: ourlifewithmpd | May 2, 2013

Sitting outside

Being outside is scary to me sometimes. When I was a child, outside had bad people in it that would whistle and yell and frighten and hurt me.

Of course, there were bad people inside, but I (or at least my parents) knew them.

But being where there are plants, and birds, and trees, and flowers seems to help me feel better.

Sometimes I like to take an umbrella and stand out in the rain.

Sometimes I like to sit on my front porch. We have a little waterfall that sounds nice.

If you like going to the park, or the beach, or the zoo, or anywhere you can be outside, then try doing that more. One extra day.

If you don’t ever go outside, pick a day that you feel good and strong. You are not allowed to shame your inside people who are afraid. Maybe ask where they want to go — it might surprise you. Mine want to go to the zoo.

If you like to-do lists, put it on your list so you can cross it off! Some of us really like crossing things off lists. šŸ™‚

If you’re not ready to go outside and even reading this is upsetting you then you should wait. Maybe the next thing I suggest will be better for you. Or maybe you can think of something that would help you that I don’t even think of! If you want you can write it down here. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

