Posted by: ourlifewithmpd | January 18, 2013

You’re not alone :)

I feel alone a lot of times … lonely, insecure. I’ve been going to a salsa class the last couple of weeks and last night the instructor told the intermediate students to find a partner in the beginners. Some did, many just stood there or chose the person they liked to dance with. It all brought back those days standing on the wall at the dance in junior high school, rejected, alone.

But of course the instructor started grabbing people and I got to dance with a couple of men (you’re constantly switching partners in this class). So it turned out okay.

This made me think of aloneness, and of (strangely enough) my back.

I hurt my middle back when I was in my early 20’s, and it’s stayed with me most of my life. It started up again a couple of days ago, and I went just now to check in Louise Hay’s Heal Your Body (a wonderful book, by the way), and it was saying things like “lonely, insecure, stuck in childhood pain, see no way out”.

And it came to me: we, of all people, are never alone.

Once we learn to communicate with each other, we have something that singletons don’t have — a team of people to comfort us, care for us, heal our bodies, love us, encourage us, and talk to us when we’re thinking of quitting.

I told my back that things will be better, that we love it and it doesn’t have to feel alone. We will take care of it and help it get out of whatever pain it’s holding there. I believe that it will turn out okay.

It’s ironic: the abusers tried to destroy us, to use us for their own lusts and rage, to wipe out anything that was good in us, yet they gave us a blessing. 🙂

Responses

  1. There’s a positive take on the situation. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

