Posted by: ourlifewithmpd | November 28, 2011

Tyler Perry’s letter to a Penn State survivor

No, I won’t call this child a victim, God knows it took me long enough to get that mindset out of my life, and just as Mr. Perry does, I respect this little boy too much to label him that way, much more than the headline writer apparently does.

Read the letter: it brought tears to my eyes. It was so empowering, and I have a new respect for Tyler Perry, knowing that he went through the same things many of us did and was able to not only succeed but reach out to this child with words of encouragement.

Part of me cries out “where were you when this happened to me?” … and of course the answer is that he was going through it too.

Another part is profoundly humbled: where did he find the strength to write this? Can I ever be that hand of solace to someone else going through the same thing now?

I sometimes wonder if I have the ability to do so, broken into pieces as I am.

I don’t know much about Tyler Perry but I do know that if what he says about himself is true, he is our brother in pain. And a man whose actions in this matter are an inspiration to all of us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

