Posted by: ourlifewithmpd | October 11, 2011

Lies Hollywood would have you believe about MPD …

Wow, I haven’t been here for a while …

Life is kind of like that.

But I found this article from Cracked, and while it’s pretty weird (as their articles tend to be), they do have some points. And the article made me think more specifically about MPD.

So without further ado, here’s some lies Hollywood would have you believe about MPD:

1) We’re all faking it. See most Law and Order: SVU episodes using MPD as a plot device.

This gal had cooked up a plot with her jailbird sister to murder her parents and get away with it using a totally cheesy parody of MPD which two psychiatrists (one who supposedly was an expert on forensic psychiatry) missed somehow.

2) People with MPD only have two (or a small number of) personalities.

Which is usually not true, according to several of my therapists. My first one told me you could usually take the number that come out to talk to the therapist and add a zero at the end and it would be about right. This was certainly true in my case.

3) Every person with MPD has an assassin alter.

This is just so laughable I really don’t believe how anyone buys it, but I guess it sells because there are a lot of shows with this plot line.

4) People with MPD can see their alters in the mirror! Didn’t you know?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I might like to see mine someday, but … has never happened. Sorry.

I try not to watch movies or TV with MPD as the main plot device, so I can’t comment on a lot of shows. But I’m sure you can add more to the list.

Leave a Reply

Categories

