Posted by: ourlifewithmpd | March 25, 2010

Memory

I really don’t have poor memory. What I can remember, I remember very well. It’s just that (obviously, if you understand the illness) my memory is spotty, and just like anyone else who has issues with dealing with the outside world (aka disability), you need things to help out, especially with kids needing to go places and be picked up on time.

So let’s get down to business. How do I keep up with my “memory problems”? Well, here’s what I do:

  • I have a calendar. Everything goes on that calendar. It hangs in the kitchen, and I have to go past it to get to my car. My kids know that if they do not see it on that calendar, it’s not happening.
  • When I book an appointment I insist on a little card, and right when I get home I mark the appointment on the calendar.
  • Also, I insist that whoever the appointment is for call me to confirm the appointment. If I don’t confirm it and check on my calendar, it is likely not to happen.
  • When stuff comes home from school with dates on it I put that on the calendar too.
  • I look on the calendar every morning to see what I’m supposed to be doing. This does help.
  • I also use the Microsoft Works calendar on my desktop. If there’s something on my calendar downstairs on a certain day, I copy it onto that and tell it to give me an alert on my computer that makes a noise before I need to leave to go do whatever it is. This does not always work but it helps.
  • You can also schedule stuff on Microsoft Works calendar in advance or weekly for months/years to come (although years tends to make it crash). This is great for reminding me to move the laundry and other things that come up every day. Habits are not reliable with me unless everyone in my system has the same habit.
  • I tell people to remind me of stuff (like if I borrowed their book or if they want me to do something for them), because I have memory problems. This has kept me out of a lot of trouble over the years!

Even so, about once a month I’ll do something like forget to pick the kids up from school or some such thing. All I can do is the best I can do.

Leave a Reply

Categories

